Interest charge

Smolyar takes victory after O’Sullivan’s dramatic charge RaceFans

Alexander Smolyar took his first victory of the Formula 3 season, and the first for an authorized neutral driver, in a race in the rain at the Hungaroring.

The MP Motorsport driver had qualified on pole position ahead of Zane Maloney. Oliver Bearman and Gregoire Saucy won the second row, with title contenders Isack Hadkar and Victor Martins starting outside the top six.

The drivers took the start on wet tires on a wet but dry track. Smolyar came out of pole position, extending his lead and winning by more than five seconds.

The top three on the grid went home in the order they started, with Maloney narrowly holding off Bearman in a thrilling tussle over second place. But behind them, Zak O’Sullivan, who started 22nd, made a bold bet on the tires to grab fourth place.

Switching to slicks as the track began to dry, O’Sullivan snatched up to 10 seconds per lap from the leaders as he mowed through the field at incredible speed. He took the checkered flag seven seconds behind Smolyar, and could have won had the race gone one lap further.

Jak Crawford came fifth ahead of Juan-Manuel Correa, who moved from 18th to sixth place. Arthur Leclerc, who was relegated to ninth place on the grid by a collision penalty in yesterday’s race, followed Kush Maini home in eighth place.

This moved Leclerc closer to Championship leader Hadjar, who failed to score in 18th, and Martins, who moved up to 10th behind yesterday’s winner Caio Collet and is now tied at the top of the Championship. Hadjar was gobbled up at the start and narrowly avoided contact on lap two in a scuffle between Johnny Edgar and Oliver Goethe that sent Campos’ car on its way, forcing him to come to a virtual stop on the track and to fall out of stitches.

Announcement | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Results of the second Formula 3 race in Hungary

Position Auto Driver Crew
1 11 Alexander Smolyar deputy
2 3 Zane Maloney Trident
3 6 Olivier Bearman Prema
4 26 Zak O’Sullivan Pug
5 5 Jak Crawford Prema
6 9 Juan-Manuel Correa ART
seven 12 Kush Maini deputy
8 4 Arthur Leclerc Prema
9 ten Caio Collet deputy
ten seven Victor Martins ART
11 8 Gregoire Saucy ART
12 2 Romain Stanek Trident
13 20 David Vidales Fields
14 31 Reece Ushijima H.W.A.
15 29 Franco Colapinto H.W.A.
16 25 Alexander Smolyar deputy
17 23 Ido Cohen Jenzer
18 18 Isack Hadjar hitech
19 28 Enzo Trulli Pug
20 17 Frederick Kaylen hitech
21 30 Raphael Villagomez H.W.A.
22 27 Brad Benavides Pug
23 15 Christian Mansell Charouz
24 1 Jonny Edgar Trident
25 24 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer
26 19 Nazim Azman hitech
27 16 Francesco Pizza Charouz
28 21 Olivier Goethe Fields
29 22 Pepe Martin Fields
30 14 Laszlo Toth Charouz

Announcement | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles